+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Nanaimo, BC
    Posts
    12,224
    Rep Power
    10

    Default 4.4.5.7.7842 release

    I have built all appropriate firmware images and the ones that have passed testing are in the sync.com download folder https://cp.sync.com/dl/eefcc90f0#9n8...pukt4-pmqymmxv
    I have decided it is disorganized to have the reports in a separate thread, so please make any reports in this thread.

    This is essentially the 7841 Release but with all of the firmware images.

    The changes made were to the Rx handling to better handle noise. Previous fixes were made to reduce or eliminate the card resets.

    This release has passed a 4 hour test, and the 7841 release passed a 20 hour test. It is stable and has shown no issues. Due to the card resets for 802.11n cards, this is a highly recommended release if you are using 11n cards.

    It will not have any effect at all for other cards.

    I have been unable to test the PC and Server versions.

    The APU version does not reboot. Looking into it now. I have to get a serial console cable so I can see what is crashing.
    ..a computer is a stupid machine with the ability to do incredibly smart things, while computer programmers are smart people with the ability to do incredibly stupid things. They are,in short, a perfect match..

    Try the latest 4.4.5.7-7842 release. It fixes the 11N card reset issue.
    http://www.star-os.com/ http://www.star-os.com/store

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Frozen Tundra of Canada
    Posts
    2,822
    Rep Power
    17

    Default

    WAR1B client (10.86.1.138) who has a -63 signal with a 79% and a 2x2 connection with a 52Mbit rate... but is unpingable/unreachable. I noticed this one, but normally the client will call and report no internet agian. If I simply do an 'activate' on the AP (not making any changes, just doing a 'starutil 1.2.3.4 1234 -a') I will immediately be able to pass data to that client as soon as he re-associates. If the customer power cycles their radio, it still won't pass data - but just a 'activate' on the AP will temporarily fix it. It feels very similar to what happens with the distance set incorrectly. I'll record a screen video and email it to you.

    EDITED: I'm not sure if the video attachment went through... perhaps an email size limitation, so let me know if you didn't get it.
    Last edited by ninedd; 04-26-2016 at 02:43 AM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Nanaimo, BC
    Posts
    12,224
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Thanks. I think I have the RF section solid and will now turn my attention to the rate control. It is an extremely complicated bit of code so it will take some time.
    ..a computer is a stupid machine with the ability to do incredibly smart things, while computer programmers are smart people with the ability to do incredibly stupid things. They are,in short, a perfect match..

    Try the latest 4.4.5.7-7842 release. It fixes the 11N card reset issue.
    http://www.star-os.com/ http://www.star-os.com/store

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Frozen Tundra of Canada
    Posts
    2,822
    Rep Power
    17

    Default

    I have all the CPE's (WAR1B, and WAR1A-SIAM and a XSCALE-WAR2) on AP#86 upgraded to 4.4.5.7-7842

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Nanaimo, BC
    Posts
    12,224
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Thanks ninedd. It looks like a number of users are pulling some fairly steady traffic. I'll keep an eye on it.

    Would you mind turning off ANI for the AP? My reasoning is that it introduces another automated variable into the mix. I'm not saying never use it, but for now with the changes being made I would like to keep the system simpler with just a few variables.
    ..a computer is a stupid machine with the ability to do incredibly smart things, while computer programmers are smart people with the ability to do incredibly stupid things. They are,in short, a perfect match..

    Try the latest 4.4.5.7-7842 release. It fixes the 11N card reset issue.
    http://www.star-os.com/ http://www.star-os.com/store

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Upstate New York think mts and trees
    Posts
    1,915
    Rep Power
    17

    Default

    4.4.5.7-7842 running on 2 Ventanas. So far no problems and fewer drop outs in the video stream.

    Just built another Vent.
    I installed 3 radio cards in the back side slots 2,3 and 4.
    They ordered like this.
    1 ether1: cable-ok 00:d0:12:9e:f0:75 mtu: 1500, ips: 1, br: none >
    2 ether2: no-cable 00:d0:12:9e:f0:76 mtu: 1500, ips: 1, br: none >
    3 wpci1: cable-ok 04:F0:21:17:3E:27 mtu: 1500, ips: 1, br: none >
    4 wpci2: cable-ok 04:F0:21:17:3E:2C mtu: 1500, ips: 0, br: none >
    5 wpci3: cable-ok 04:F0:21:17:3E:2B mtu: 1500, ips: 0, br: none >

    The problem is wpci 2 and 3 are reversed.
    I swapped the 2 radios and they remain in the same slots.
    What am I missing here?
    Dave
    <
    @)
    (Cooter>>
    ^^^^^^^^^^
    Vrablic

    "I have no excuses, Just reasons"


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Nanaimo, BC
    Posts
    12,224
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    What kind of cards are you using? PCI scans per type, so no matter the slot, a particular card type will always come ahead of some others.



    Quote Originally Posted by David L. Vrablic View Post
    4.4.5.7-7842 running on 2 Ventanas. So far no problems and fewer drop outs in the video stream.

    Just built another Vent.
    I installed 3 radio cards in the back side slots 2,3 and 4.
    They ordered like this.
    1 ether1: cable-ok 00:d0:12:9e:f0:75 mtu: 1500, ips: 1, br: none >
    2 ether2: no-cable 00:d0:12:9e:f0:76 mtu: 1500, ips: 1, br: none >
    3 wpci1: cable-ok 04:F0:21:17:3E:27 mtu: 1500, ips: 1, br: none >
    4 wpci2: cable-ok 04:F0:21:17:3E:2C mtu: 1500, ips: 0, br: none >
    5 wpci3: cable-ok 04:F0:21:17:3E:2B mtu: 1500, ips: 0, br: none >

    The problem is wpci 2 and 3 are reversed.
    I swapped the 2 radios and they remain in the same slots.
    What am I missing here?
    ..a computer is a stupid machine with the ability to do incredibly smart things, while computer programmers are smart people with the ability to do incredibly stupid things. They are,in short, a perfect match..

    Try the latest 4.4.5.7-7842 release. It fixes the 11N card reset issue.
    http://www.star-os.com/ http://www.star-os.com/store

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Nanaimo, BC
    Posts
    12,224
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Glad the new 7834 is an improvement. I'm now turning attention to the AP stall issue, as it seems that the RF driver is a lot better. I'll not go out on a limb and say it is 100% perfect, but the Reset issue is now very few and far between.

    Quote Originally Posted by David L. Vrablic View Post
    4.4.5.7-7842 running on 2 Ventanas. So far no problems and fewer drop outs in the video stream.

    Just built another Vent.
    I installed 3 radio cards in the back side slots 2,3 and 4.
    They ordered like this.
    1 ether1: cable-ok 00:d0:12:9e:f0:75 mtu: 1500, ips: 1, br: none >
    2 ether2: no-cable 00:d0:12:9e:f0:76 mtu: 1500, ips: 1, br: none >
    3 wpci1: cable-ok 04:F0:21:17:3E:27 mtu: 1500, ips: 1, br: none >
    4 wpci2: cable-ok 04:F0:21:17:3E:2C mtu: 1500, ips: 0, br: none >
    5 wpci3: cable-ok 04:F0:21:17:3E:2B mtu: 1500, ips: 0, br: none >

    The problem is wpci 2 and 3 are reversed.
    I swapped the 2 radios and they remain in the same slots.
    What am I missing here?
    ..a computer is a stupid machine with the ability to do incredibly smart things, while computer programmers are smart people with the ability to do incredibly stupid things. They are,in short, a perfect match..

    Try the latest 4.4.5.7-7842 release. It fixes the 11N card reset issue.
    http://www.star-os.com/ http://www.star-os.com/store

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Posts
    10
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Hi there,

    Is it possible to go straight from a STAR OS V2.10 4693 to the newer Gecko V4. It would be lot easier although I think I read it somewhere have to go to V3 first.
    I have topped up the licence account but there only the Gecko there for a new licence. I think I'd need a V3 as well or do I

    I also seem to have trouble getting StarUtil to run on a windows 10 PC ...

    I am currently running a Wrap router version
    Last edited by Fearrchair; 06-03-2016 at 05:35 PM.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Frozen Tundra of Canada
    Posts
    2,822
    Rep Power
    17

    Default

    Lonnie - I'm sending another screen capture video to your email. It's about 5.5 minutes long and shows me pinging all the CPE's on AP#86. A few of them are pingable and then not pingable - reachable and then unreachable. So, mainly 10.86.1.119 and .121 and .129 are the ones exhibiting this unpingable behavior at the moment this video was recorded, even through they are associated. As you can see in the video, a bunch of the CPE's are dropping pings all over the place, but those three are kinda replying or not-replying the most. They have signals of -71 and -70 and -60 respectively. At one point, you can see that 10.86.1.129 starts pinging, and you can see that the client start getting 200-240KBytes/second.

    As far as I know, the AP is in HT20 with PureG clicked on, all the clients are in HT20/PureG or 11g/PureG (depending on if they are WAR1B or WAR1A or whatever cards are in each CPE - but all PureG checked on.)

    I do a 'starutil 10.86.1.1 pass -a' to do an activate with no changes, everyone un-links and re-links and .119 and .121 and .129 are all reachable again.

    AP Reset Count = 6 on the AP (6 Days, 12 hours)

Similar Threads

  1. Release history
    By RebCom in forum StarOS™
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-15-2007, 09:01 PM
  2. When will you release the new version?
    By tony in forum WAR Board -- Wireless Advanced Router
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 08-07-2007, 03:09 AM
  3. Next V3 Crossover release
    By Stratolinks in forum V3 Topics
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-28-2006, 11:07 PM
  4. v3/WAR Release
    By tog in forum V3 Topics
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-05-2006, 03:01 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts