+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 38
  1. #21
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV
    Posts
    120
    Rep Power
    14

    Default

    In regards to ventana software versions. I upgraded backhaul ventana board yesterday from 4.2 to 4.3.4n beta that was up on mountain and when it came back up it would only pass 100k speeds. I was unable to do much further testing due to slow. I was able to get 4.2.3 firmware uploaded to board after abount 10 minutes and after updated and reboot only 1 nic would work and all wireless cards were not detected. I had to drive up mountain and i reset to default with same results. Tried to reload license and website gave me some error that couldn't find license?? was able to load beta 4.3.4n back on unit and after reboot both nic's and all wireless cards worked again. with further testing the issue was the auto distance settings. I forced distance to 20 miles and link could now pass 40meg instead of 100kbps. This is an issue that we had in an older release also. Any idea why this is still happening?

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Langley, Canada
    Posts
    8,090
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    The autosense works good in most situations however some circumstances may require you to specify a distance manually. To closely mimic the older auto distance behaviour, you can use the distance 'max' keyword.

    Due to changes in the newer releases, you cannot revert to older 4.2.x releases (ventana only) once you have upgraded to the 4.3.x series as it will render the wifi inoperable. This notice has been made more pronounced in the release notes. This beta is nearing the end and will be finalized in the next release or two.

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV
    Posts
    120
    Rep Power
    14

    Default

    What are people doing if they need to install higher power cards in ventana? I was able to get 2 installed but they do not fit very well due to limited space. I wonder if these would work on ventana boards?

    http://www.amazon.com/Generic-Expres.../dp/B00EQ1XQHS

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Nanaimo, BC
    Posts
    12,224
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Those look ideal. I see no reason why they would not work. Try a couple of them for me. I'll credit your License Keys account for their cost.
    ..a computer is a stupid machine with the ability to do incredibly smart things, while computer programmers are smart people with the ability to do incredibly stupid things. They are,in short, a perfect match..

    Try the latest 4.4.5.7-7842 release. It fixes the 11N card reset issue.
    http://www.star-os.com/ http://www.star-os.com/store

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV
    Posts
    120
    Rep Power
    14

    Default Ordered

    Will update as we receive and test them. Tks

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Frozen Tundra of Canada
    Posts
    2,822
    Rep Power
    17

    Default

    The MikroTik cards are pretty high power... they have 2.4 ghz cards that are available in 28 or 30 dbm versions that plug right in. http://routerboard.com/R11e-2HPnD and 5ghz cards in N or AC that are 27 dbm. The AC cards aren't supported yet of course, but as far as hardware goes, they have 27 or 28 or 30 (or even 33) dbm cards.

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    2,382
    Rep Power
    18

    Default

    Notice those cards are not ufl.
    I think I want to try some, maybe.
    Have you tried their 5gig cards?

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV
    Posts
    120
    Rep Power
    14

    Default

    Just ordered 2 High power minipice 5ghz tik N cards. Will post results

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Nanaimo, BC
    Posts
    12,224
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    I can see a dislike for the u.fl connectors but to loathe them? You soon develop a technique and typically they are put in place you forget about them. It is not like a test environment where they are on and off many times per day.

    The bottom line is they work for the job and to me that is the most important. Once the units are installed who cares what the RF connector is? It has no effect except for your dislike when you initially install them.

    Personally I loathe low voltage non POE units. Now that is something that can affect the install.
    ..a computer is a stupid machine with the ability to do incredibly smart things, while computer programmers are smart people with the ability to do incredibly stupid things. They are,in short, a perfect match..

    Try the latest 4.4.5.7-7842 release. It fixes the 11N card reset issue.
    http://www.star-os.com/ http://www.star-os.com/store

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    2,382
    Rep Power
    18

    Default

    I prefer MMCX cards. One nice thing about the Ventana board is mounting them upside down or 4 card up.
    I want to add, the one laguna board I put the latest .4 beta on hasn't lost it's associations yet.
    It's been about a week or so that I tried it.

Similar Threads

  1. Ventana
    By ninedd in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 11-19-2014, 02:28 AM
  2. New Ventana YSYL sale
    By lonnie in forum Forum Announcements
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-04-2014, 12:30 AM
  3. Ventana YSYL sale
    By lonnie in forum Forum Announcements
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-27-2014, 01:10 PM
  4. Ventana 6 radio board is now available
    By lonnie in forum Forum Announcements
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 08-26-2014, 03:07 PM
  5. Performance numbers
    By tony in forum Atheros
    Replies: 46
    Last Post: 01-27-2004, 09:45 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts