+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 38

Thread: Compatable

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    208
    Rep Power
    12

    Default Compatable

    We inherited a Bullet M2 HP and upgraded it to ver. 5.2.1 - we cannot get it to work with a Star AP running 2x or 4x cloaking with versions 1.4.x or 1.5.x and the Bullet set to 10mhz or 5mhz - are we missing something? does anyone use these? - this will link up with a 1x / 20mhz set-up.

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Sunny Maine
    Posts
    824
    Rep Power
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mickeym View Post
    We inherited a Bullet M2 HP and upgraded it to ver. 5.2.1 - we cannot get it to work with a Star AP running 2x or 4x cloaking with versions 1.4.x or 1.5.x and the Bullet set to 10mhz or 5mhz - are we missing something? does anyone use these? - this will link up with a 1x / 20mhz set-up.

    Thanks.
    1.4.22 will work fine 10mhz (2x) but the 1.5 series for some reason take forever sometimes and then sometimes not even connect even though you can see it in a survey.. I had quite a few bullets connected to star-os Ap's before I changed then out.

    Reed
    Hand picking business customers from DSL for 7 years

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Nanaimo, BC
    Posts
    12,204
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    I need to enquire, to be certain, that you used the latest 1.5.14.1

    Quote Originally Posted by mickeym View Post
    We inherited a Bullet M2 HP and upgraded it to ver. 5.2.1 - we cannot get it to work with a Star AP running 2x or 4x cloaking with versions 1.4.x or 1.5.x and the Bullet set to 10mhz or 5mhz - are we missing something? does anyone use these? - this will link up with a 1x / 20mhz set-up.

    Thanks.
    ..a computer is a stupid machine with the ability to do incredibly smart things, while computer programmers are smart people with the ability to do incredibly stupid things. They are,in short, a perfect match..

    Try the latest 4.4.5.7-7842 release. It fixes the 11N card reset issue.
    http://www.star-os.com/ http://www.star-os.com/store

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,497
    Rep Power
    16

    Default

    YES, BM2's don't like starOS cloaking (or starOS doesn't like BM2 cloaking.)
    I've researched/troubleshot it quite a bit. It's not related to country code/channel/hide SSID or anything else.

    Ultimate solution is to not use BM2... or use then on only 20mhz channels.
    When we did have a cloaked sector with BM2 clients, they would take 10-15 minutes to associate if they ever did at all.

    It seemed to help by pinging the BM2 ip from the AP end. Also seemed to help by enabling the custom scan list in the BM2, and the mac address of the AP. It never sped up the association time though... still 10-15 minutes.
    Bob C

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    458
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Well this is not completely true.

    I use, without problems, NSM2/NBM2 with Star-OS Aps running 1.4.22r with X2 cloaking. I also have 1 Star-OS AP running 1.5.14.1 with X2 cloaking with a NSM2 client working just fine.

    I know I could not get any of the 1.5.X versions working until 1.5.14.1

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    208
    Rep Power
    12

    Default

    Again, we are working with only a Bullet M2 HP, ver. 5.2.1

    The Star AP's we have tried this with are 1.4.22, 1.5.12, and 1.5.14.1

    The 1.4.22 is a production set up with customers and can't be screwed with too much.

    The 1.5.12 + 1.5.14.1 are bench bound, can be and have been messed with a lot.

    The M2 will link to the Star @ 1.5.12 + 1.5.14.1 ONLY using 1x on the AP and 20mhz on the Bullet - no link with 2x / 10mhz or 4x / 5mhz.

    For us this is not a great big deal but it seems strange to get the mixed reports of this stuff working and not working.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Srbobran, Serbia
    Posts
    4,084
    Rep Power
    16

    Default

    You should compare radio configs and see where is a difference.
    Ljubomir Ljubojevic - Love is in the Air
    Google is the Mother, Google is the Father, and traceroute is your trusty Spiderman...
    StarOS and CentOS/RHEL/Linux consultant
    Powerful Starv3 manipulation tool - StarV3 Multipractik for Linux

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    177
    Rep Power
    9

    Default

    For Ubnt m series sta to connect to a Star AP, we haved to disable aggregation under the advanced tab on AirOS.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Key Largo, FL, USA
    Posts
    3,749
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    It sounds like the Bullet M2 (the single-chain non-MIMO device) doesn't always work too well but I know from bench testing that the NSM2 and NBM2 (the MIMO devices) work fine with StarOS 1.4.22r and 1.5.14.1 in any combination of AP/client role. WPA2-AES PSK even works.
    StarOS Community Wiki: http://staros.tog.net/

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    208
    Rep Power
    12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mike View Post
    For Ubnt m series sta to connect to a Star AP, we haved to disable aggregation under the advanced tab on AirOS.
    We read that from a different post so that has been disabled from the get-go - still no link with 2x / 10mhz and 4x 5mhz - thanks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts