+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 39
  1. #21
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Srbobran, Serbia
    Posts
    4,084
    Rep Power
    16

    Default

    As far as I can see, this will be very interesting year. Very nice.
    Ljubomir Ljubojevic - Love is in the Air
    Google is the Mother, Google is the Father, and traceroute is your trusty Spiderman...
    StarOS and CentOS/RHEL/Linux consultant
    Powerful Starv3 manipulation tool - StarV3 Multipractik for Linux

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Nanaimo, BC
    Posts
    12,204
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Grounding will happen through the standard AC ground system. Any other grounding will create a ground loop and that has potentially lethal side effects.

    Quote Originally Posted by tog View Post
    We've actually gone out and spent the extra money stocking up and using the pac wireless integrated PoE devices solely because of their grounding. Is that featured in yours?

    I'm not familiar, who has licenses for 2.7GHz (and in what regions)?
    ..a computer is a stupid machine with the ability to do incredibly smart things, while computer programmers are smart people with the ability to do incredibly stupid things. They are,in short, a perfect match..

    Try the latest 4.4.5.7-7842 release. It fixes the 11N card reset issue.
    http://www.star-os.com/ http://www.star-os.com/store

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Key Largo, FL, USA
    Posts
    3,749
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lonnie View Post
    Grounding will happen through the standard AC ground system. Any other grounding will create a ground loop and that has potentially lethal side effects.
    The pac wireless integrated PoE devices have a 3-prong power connector on them featuring a ground and it has proven to be helpful.

    If yours also have a grounded 3-prong power connection, I'll be pretty happy and will redirect those funds to you.

    So, what is 2.7GHz for (who has permission to use it)? I couldn't find any information, it's not a band I'm familiar with. Is it a band that's useful outside my USA/FCC territory or something?
    StarOS Community Wiki: http://staros.tog.net/

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Nanaimo, BC
    Posts
    12,204
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Yes, 3 prong plug. Integrated POE. Built for me, although as is usual in China, the design will get circulated, so it will also appear with others.

    The 2.7 to 2.9 GHz radios will be useful in a number of Asian and African places.
    ..a computer is a stupid machine with the ability to do incredibly smart things, while computer programmers are smart people with the ability to do incredibly stupid things. They are,in short, a perfect match..

    Try the latest 4.4.5.7-7842 release. It fixes the 11N card reset issue.
    http://www.star-os.com/ http://www.star-os.com/store

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Upstate New York think mts and trees
    Posts
    1,914
    Rep Power
    16

    Post FCC alocation for 2.5 to 2.7 gig band

    Looks like there might be a bit of a problem if some of these antennas are pointed skyward. Earth Exploration Satellite

    RADIO ASTRON.
    SPACE RESEARCH
    EARTH EXPL SAT
    AERONAUTICAL
    RADIONAVIGATION
    Radiolocation

    http://www.ntia.doc.gov/osmhome/allochrt.pdf
    Dave
    <
    @)
    (Cooter>>
    ^^^^^^^^^^
    Vrablic

    "I have no excuses, Just reasons"


  6. #26
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    247
    Rep Power
    14

    Default

    I think its safe to assume its within 10% of this http://www.compex.com.sg/fullDescription.aspx?pID=103 product line at compex.

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Valemount, BC Canada
    Posts
    637
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Nah, 300MHz MIPS seems kind of slow and unlikely given the odds and niche.

    I'm thinking more along the lines of a 680/700MHz MIPS (Atheros or the like) SBC with Ralink 11n cards. With the plethora of PHY's for ethernet it's a hard guess (guessing Atheros or Realtek), but the general platform... I'd think It's likely close.

    Hopefully I'm close.. things are really starting to pump up here so all the extra is needed for BH. We've started bandwidth accounting and enforcing (to some extent) usage to hopefully force some users up in bandwidth plans for additional capital to expand and increase but it is still written plainly on the wall.. we need to increase throughput on backhauls and counter measures only last so long as does enforcing usage since there are alternatives for many.

    At any rate, we're all thumbs on the board to see what happens next. Always a challenge and yet.. still fun!
    Why don't we just take the safety labels off everything and see what happens?

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Upstate New York think mts and trees
    Posts
    1,914
    Rep Power
    16

    Default

    Hope you are on the right track Carl, cameras are real BW hogs.
    Reminds me of Johnny Five "Need more input"

    Good to see you back amongst the living Carl.
    Looks like you have a heavy load.
    Best always
    Dave
    <
    @)
    (Cooter>>
    ^^^^^^^^^^
    Vrablic

    "I have no excuses, Just reasons"


  9. #29
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Nanaimo, BC
    Posts
    12,204
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    The client boards are the 300 MHz one port and we are going to get a 3 or 4 port unit using the 680 MHz. The one port should be able to handle 100 MHz hdx, so will be more than adequate for the client side.
    ..a computer is a stupid machine with the ability to do incredibly smart things, while computer programmers are smart people with the ability to do incredibly stupid things. They are,in short, a perfect match..

    Try the latest 4.4.5.7-7842 release. It fixes the 11N card reset issue.
    http://www.star-os.com/ http://www.star-os.com/store

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    208
    Rep Power
    12

    Default

    Would you mind sharing what tool(s) you're using for the bw tracking?

    Thanks.

    We've started bandwidth accounting and enforcing (to some extent) usage to hopefully force some users up in bandwidth plans for additional capital to expand and increase but it is still written plainly on the wall..

Similar Threads

  1. Something funny going on
    By Premier in forum Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-14-2010, 02:55 PM
  2. My last order
    By gunther_01 in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-21-2009, 07:23 PM
  3. Next order on its way
    By lonnie in forum WAR Board -- Wireless Advanced Router
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-01-2008, 08:37 PM
  4. How do we order a license upgrade?
    By David L. Vrablic in forum Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-18-2003, 10:24 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts