+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Upstate New York think mts and trees
    Posts
    1,914
    Rep Power
    16

    Lightbulb Antenna allignment program

    If you haven't tried this handy utility please do.
    Audible Signal Meter

    http://files.star-os.com/index.php?dir=Utilities/

    I have been working on rooftops with noisy air handling equipment.
    I use a cheap pair of family radio walkie talkies.
    I get the program going put a rubber band around the xmitt switch of the first unit, lay it next to my laptop speaker and drop the other unit in my pocket.
    ------------
    If you find units with mic/headphone jacks you can plug a audio jumper cable between your lap top and the sending radio and use an earbud on the rec side. This is much better for tower work or inside / outside antenna alignments
    -----------
    It is amazing how critical the adjustments can be on a PAC Wireless PA 58-24 5.8 panel antenna.
    At 4 city blocks it made 10 dbi signal change by moving less than a half inch.
    -----
    I was trying to feed two sectors from the same AP with the best signal I could get.
    I was able to balance the signal so they both got a -68.
    This is more than enough for a couple of Hot Spot sectors.
    This would have been very time consuming without this utility.
    -----------
    Try it, you'll like it.
    Thank you again Carl.....
    Dave
    <
    @)
    (Cooter>>
    ^^^^^^^^^^
    Vrablic

    "I have no excuses, Just reasons"


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6
    Rep Power
    0

    Thumbs up Great Idea....but...

    I've been looking for something like this and am glad that you posted it.

    Unfortunately, shortly (1-2 seconds) after I click the start button it crashes and closes. The signal shows up with no audible...then it crashes. This is a copy of the error message created. I'm using a Dell Latitude C610 running Windows XP.


    EventType : clr20r3 P1 : lnc audible meter.exe P2 : 1.0.0.0
    P3 : 480bc19b P4 : lnc audible meter P5 : 1.0.0.0 P6 : 480bc19b
    P7 : 3a P8 : 1ad P9 : system.io.filenotfoundexception

    Again...thank you for the post...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    ireland
    Posts
    614
    Rep Power
    11

    Default

    here is the full thread on this utility: http://forums.star-os.com/showthread.php?t=7610

    and this is the post regarding the release: http://forums.star-os.com/showpost.p...6&postcount=47

    this one has details on enabling snmp: http://forums.star-os.com/showpost.p...6&postcount=52

    have a run through these - especially the last 2 just in case you are missing some of the required dependencies.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Srbobran, Serbia
    Posts
    4,084
    Rep Power
    16

    Default

    Windows XP SP??? , .NET version ???? You need at least .NET 2.0 (or higher) for program to work properly.

    After XP SP2, there are ~300-400MB of updates.
    Ljubomir Ljubojevic - Love is in the Air
    Google is the Mother, Google is the Father, and traceroute is your trusty Spiderman...
    StarOS and CentOS/RHEL/Linux consultant
    Powerful Starv3 manipulation tool - StarV3 Multipractik for Linux

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Sunny Maine
    Posts
    824
    Rep Power
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DrLove73 View Post
    Windows XP SP??? , .NET version ???? You need at least .NET 2.0 (or higher) for program to work properly.

    After XP SP2, there are ~300-400MB of updates.
    Install XP SP3, less updates after only about 20mb and I NEEDED Net 3.0 for the latest version of LNC signal program to even run with my laptop otherwise it would give me a fatal error when you clicked on the get associations button.

    Just a thought!
    Reed
    Hand picking business customers from DSL for 7 years

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Valemount, BC Canada
    Posts
    637
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    The file not found exception would indicate that you are trying to use voice output and don't have .NET 3.0 installed. You will be able to use the tone outputs until you are able to get .NET 3.0, just be sure to select one of them before you click the start button.
    Why don't we just take the safety labels off everything and see what happens?

Similar Threads

  1. On going antenna issue
    By Premier in forum Antenna Issues
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 01-01-2008, 09:06 PM
  2. IP Configurator program a must for techs
    By vaneaton in forum Customer Developed Software
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-20-2005, 02:30 PM
  3. cm-9 antenna connectors
    By tim in forum Atheros
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-18-2004, 08:59 PM
  4. Antenna grounding, is it better?
    By kingrs in forum Antenna Issues
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-12-2004, 09:10 PM
  5. MP Antenna's
    By MerTech_Wes in forum Antenna Issues
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-25-2004, 08:24 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts