+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: PTP and WDS

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    694
    Rep Power
    15

    Default PTP and WDS

    I have a site that is currently fed by a 802.11b ptp. If I ran this link in WDS mode would it be faster?

    I have scoured the web and these forums and have yet to find answer.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Langley, Canada
    Posts
    8,090
    Rep Power
    10

    Default Re: PTP and WDS

    If you use WDS for a simply PtP (non-repeated) link, then the throughput should be similar as if it were setup in an AP->client fashon.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    694
    Rep Power
    15

    Default

    Is there any way to squeeze more speed out of a star-os to star-os ptp?

    I have all soekris boards if that matters.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Nanaimo, BC
    Posts
    12,204
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    The only way I know of is to switch to Atheros radios and use G mode or go the whole way and do 5.x.
    ..a computer is a stupid machine with the ability to do incredibly smart things, while computer programmers are smart people with the ability to do incredibly stupid things. They are,in short, a perfect match..

    Try the latest 4.4.5.7-7842 release. It fixes the 11N card reset issue.
    http://www.star-os.com/ http://www.star-os.com/store

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    694
    Rep Power
    15

    Default

    5.x is the plan, but these things always take 10x longer than one xpects.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Taiwan,HongKong,China
    Posts
    51
    Rep Power
    14

    Default

    But I need the WDS function.

    I do not want to use routing mode ( ap and client mode)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Nanaimo, BC
    Posts
    12,204
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    WDS is not going to be available until V3.
    ..a computer is a stupid machine with the ability to do incredibly smart things, while computer programmers are smart people with the ability to do incredibly stupid things. They are,in short, a perfect match..

    Try the latest 4.4.5.7-7842 release. It fixes the 11N card reset issue.
    http://www.star-os.com/ http://www.star-os.com/store

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    694
    Rep Power
    15

    Default

    just to claify, I getting ready to fire up my first Atheros link. When I setup my routing on my ptp, there will be a little subnet in the middle across the link right?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Nanaimo, BC
    Posts
    12,204
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Yes, each AP is the gateway for all the clients that connect on the new subnet.
    ..a computer is a stupid machine with the ability to do incredibly smart things, while computer programmers are smart people with the ability to do incredibly stupid things. They are,in short, a perfect match..

    Try the latest 4.4.5.7-7842 release. It fixes the 11N card reset issue.
    http://www.star-os.com/ http://www.star-os.com/store

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts